top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShannon Keyes

Refresh // Dive // The Time is Now

Updated: Jul 22, 2020


I want to write about what it means to have courage. I want to write about how unfulfilling it is trying to be perfect, and how fulfilling it is to receive grace. I want to write about the value in community and how true, authentic love is selfless. I want to write about many things, but then I would have start.


To begin writing is most probably the hardest part.

And I have put it off for far too long now.


Each new year my mom and I choose one word to focus on rather than "revising" a list of resolutions. Her word for this new year is dive. The other day we were talking about what it means to dive…


This is no toe-in-the-water quick-dip-in-the-pool camp experience; this is a complete submersion; an intentional plunge into something, where you are ALL IN. And to go completely under the surface, you have to dive deep.


She said something profound the other day..."You can only dive in deep waters. You can't dive in shallow waters, or you die. We think that shallow water is safe. It is a dichotomy. For someone walking in shallow water, it is safe. But, to dive in shallow water is a death sentence."


To dive safely, you must go into the deep waters. The deep is unknown and the unknown can be scary because we can assume the worst, but one thing is certain: you will make it. Even better, you will discover.


It is incredible what you discover when you take the risk and go after something wholeheartedly.


*****


I’d like to say I live wholeheartedly in everything I do, but then I would lying. For some reason I struggle especially when it comes to writing. I have thoughts, many thoughts (don’t we all), but communicating them for others to understand is often a messy, courageous, time-consuming project.

And yet, it is so, so worth it!


SO I am starting again, with fresh insight, and a heart for people to be encouraged, and stirred on to live-fully alive!


The time to dive in is now.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page